The single carriage bridge over the Wreigh Burn almost appears to guard the entrance to Thropton
. Built by George Robson in 1811 at a cost of £365, of which some £160 was raised by 'subscribers'.
Thropton may be a small village but it boasts two pubs, The Cross Keys and The Three Wheat Heads. It has four churches, The RC Church of All Saints, which dates back to 1733. The United Reformed Church (originally Presbyterian) was built in 1863. The local C of E is a rather nice cast timber building
situated on the north road towards the School, and is another monument to 'public subscription'. The Brethren meet in the Armstrong Hall which is presently being refurbished.
At the west end of the village stands the Village Hall. Opened
in 1924 in memory of the men who died in the 1914-18 War, whose names are inscribed over the main entrance. This was another building built by public ' subscription' on land given by Lord Armstrong
"They are indeed a generous lot in Thropton"
The Village School is well supported and provides eduaction for children up to 9 years old. Village Schools play a most important role in community life, but for some reason they are constantly under threat it seems. It's odd to think that those in power, and with authority, feel a community would benefit by having its School closed !